How Blogging Changes People

anyonethere.png 

Reading Seth Godin’s blog I came across a post titled If no one reads your post, does it exist? It’s a short post that discussed how blogging changes people and it has a great message for bloggers.

I agree, and as I alluded to in a previous post, I think writing a blog can change how you approach a topic, and eventually even change why you blog in the first place. When I first began blogging a few years ago it was some sort of cosmic thing, like I was putting my thoughts out into the cosmos or something, and then as people began blogging more and people actually started to read my blog I sat up a bit and thought more about what I was writing.

When I started BlueRoof and began this blog I knew I wanted to be less filtered than some other company blogs I read, but I became more aware of what I was writing about. I have probably written 50 or 60 posts that have eventually been deleted without being published because of the content, or because I just re-read it and decided it wasn’t good material.

Several times I’ve come across posts on other blogs that I thought I had written about, but I had only began writing about it and had no posted it yet, or I had only thought about writing about it and just didn’t get to it.

Sometimes I feel more inspired to write and sometimes I feel like I haven’t published anything for a while so I should. I really enjoy blogging. And I like that people read my blog, and it really does give you a sense of humility when your traffic is down for a couple days. Blogging has changed my daily routine and has caused me to spend much more time researching things than I ever did before.

There have been days where I’ve began writing many posts and saved them to be finished or published later. Sometimes I begin writing about something and then think, “this will bring more heat than I want,” so it gets deleted. Other times I post about random stuff that I’m sure has little purpose, other than I find it interesting.

Blogging has changed me in a few ways. I think about topics now, I notice business practices and industry events more and I’m much more informed of new business models coming into the indrustry now.

Blogging also changes some people who don’t blog themselves. Some people seem to be professional commentors or critics. They troll around criticising and judging, but not writing their own stuff. Some people have become really great participators, adding to conversations and giving different perspectives. And many just read the information they are looking for and move on, but (many times) with a broader understanding of the topic they were researching.

I’ve probably learned about more new companies in the last year by reading TechCrunch than I have the rest of my life combined. And I’ve definitely learned a lot more about the real estate industry and certain markets because of blogging.

Search engines have richer results and we can find more information about subjects due to the blogging community. When I was looking into a new hosting company for a website, I found the best research on blogs where people gave their experiences and opinions about different companies. It’s good to read the pros and cons from other people.

Blogging connects us and brings ideas together in ways that cannot be accomplished otherwise. Having a topic discussed and commented on and having it go off in different directions, you really get to learn about topics in many ways. When you really think about it, blogging has changed how many of us communicate, learn and instruct. Blogging has changed the internet and it is beginning to change business practices in general.

And that has an affect on all of us.

8 thoughts on “How Blogging Changes People

  1. Greg – as you know, I retired from Delta Airlines last summer and moved out to the East Bay to help my brother with his real estate business. In Park City, I had a small Internet Marketing and Promotion business. So that’s what I do for the team.

    Blogging has become a big part of that effort. In addition to the phenomenal impact on our site traffic, it has helped me to learn much more about the real estate industry in a short amoount of time, connect with people all over the country, and learn more about my local communities.

    I don’t think I could have designed a college course to include all of this, but with blogging this all just happens while following my curiosity about things.

  2. Greg – tell the truth – Mike Elliott is an alter ego you made up to create controversy on yor site.

    I come to this conclusion because he never provides a link to his site. So he is either, made up, doesn’t have a site or is some kind of coward.

    Every once in a while he/you make a witty comment under the pseudonym M.E., but mostly the comments are obnoxious.

    If he is real, he obvioiusly has some kind of immature vendetta against you and you really should consider leaving his comments off your blog. Of course, if he is real, it explains why he does not link to his site because his innane and immature comments speak volumes about him.

  3. Mike did leave a link (www.husharbinger.com ) to his site a couple days ago. He is an antagonist to my blog because he disagrees with a post I made about the franchise he works with, probably among other things.

    I don’t mind people disagreeing with me. I doubt I am clever enough to create an alter ego as interesting as Mike.

    Mike- you seem to take my blog seriously also. I imagine your time is very valuable to you, being the owner of a brokerage. So if you are willing to take your time every day to read a blog, it must be important to you.

    John,
    Did you design your website? It looks great.

  4. My son is the design wizard. We are constantly massaging it to increase it’s effectiveness. How about writing a post for us – Bay Area vs SLC – or whatever.

  5. Greg:
    I do take your blog seriously. I think you do an outstanding job with it. Truly. I am about to launch my own blog, and I can only hope I can do a job which compares remotely to your blog. I just don’t agree with all of your opinions, but ironically, feel if we ever met, we would be friendly.

    John Harper:
    Sarcasm, immaturity, defensiveness, are all different attributes. At times I agree I do possess each trait. The difference between me and others is I speak the truth, directly and unfiltered. Some of the problems I have with bloggers is this: They post something that says the car is blue. When witnesses respond, “the car is NOT blue, it’s orange”, the blogegr responds, “I never said it’s blue”. Uh, yeah, in the post above, you did, JACKASS. So, if that makes me immature, label it. And yes, I do exist. For some reason never felt the need to give a link.

    As for the “blogging can change my life”, I think you guys take this stuff too seriously. The problem with the printed word, as opposed to the spoken, is it can be taken too directly, too seriously, too literally. With no smirk, voice inflection, wink, smile, etc, written words, especially just a few sentences can be completely misunderstood. If you knew my sense of humor, you might understand better. I think Greg somehow understands me a (little) bit better and credit him for leaving some of my crazy opinions on his blog. But it were his crazy anti-Help-U-Sell opinions which led me down the Google path to his blog to begin with. So ironically, we’re linked.

    As far as the HUS-A2S comments, I stand completely behind my opinions. I believe passionately in what I do, and from my perspective, know I am right. It must be very easy for a non HUS or A2S broker to judge us having never worked in our model. It’s like judging a movie based on your next door neighbor’s opinion.

  6. I fell into blogging about 14 months ago as a lead generator. I just knew the leads would flow in! That is why I started. But I, too, found out so much more. I found that people love to know with whom they are going to work. Their opinions, their thoughts, their ideas.

    And I found that it helps me to develop my lines of thought. To communicate my core values, sense of humor and sarcasm. And while Mike’s comments are sometimes a bother to you (I’m sure) he is most correct when he states it is difficult to convey a wink, nudge or soft laugh on a blog. But yet I try and it seems to work.

    Yes, I do generate good leads from my blogging. But I also find it helps me to do my business more professionally. to put my money where my mouth is when I stand up and proclaim that real estate knowledge shouldn’t just be in the hands of the agents. Blogging allows me to bounce around and see your posts and learn from many professionals out there. To agree. To disagree.

    Well, let me get off now before this turns into a post!

Leave a Reply

