My Thoughts on Zillow Before they Launched

     pregnant.jpg 

Earlier today I was cleaning up some documents on my computer and ran across a blog post of mine from one of the blogs I have from the past (I have several), back before anyone was really reading real estate-related blogs.

Anyway- this was a blog I started called Zillow- Another Data Company and its first post (of just three) was on December 19, 2005, or a few months before they launched.

Here’s my take on Zillow right after they launched last February;

So Zillow is now up and it’s secrets are all out. So, what was all the secrecy about?

Zillow will let you find out how much a home is worth!

Wow- that’s what we’ve all been missing. Like you can’t go to about a million sites and get a FREE (and accurate for that matter) value of any home. Realtors have been giving these free home value’s for decades.

So they got $32 Million and this is what they came up with?

What’s next? Maybe they can revolutionize the restaurant business by telling us what the ingrdients are to over 60 Million entrees. That will show those chefs…

    

It’s interesting to me how much the industry has evolved in the last 14 months, but it’s also all relative. There are hundreds of thousands of Realtors out there who don’t know anything about Zillow or any other “New, Innovative Real Estate Model”.

They, and their clients, just go on day to day buying and selling homes and it’s business as usual.

Sometimes I forget that most real estate agents really don’t know or care about any online models. For many, the only website the even know of is their company site, if their company even discusses it with them, or even has a site at all.

My thoughts at the time were mostly about how Zillow was just another data company and more data doesn’t matter much. And I still mostly agree with myself, but I think there is a thirst for more, and better, information from people who are in the process of buying a house or thinking of selling and are doing their research.

Zillow gives us more data, and it is usually not very correct, but it’s a fun site to play with and it gives people something to look at while they are thinking about real estate. I think about real estate all day long every day, even when I am trying to not think about it. But the average person only thinks about it when someone else brings it up or when they are looking to buy or sell a house, and that usually only happens every five to seven years.

Anyway, I thought it was interesting to see what I wrote back then and I thought I would share it with anyone interested…

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Zillow Before they Launched

  1. Pingback: - Local Real Estate Agents on the Leading Edge - The Harper Team

  2. Great post Greg. I was at an office party last night (The almost-famous “Last Christmas Party”) and was talking to a couple of fellow agents. I mentioned “Zillow” and “Trulia” and all three of them looked at me like I had two heads. I might as well have been speaking French.

    It boggles the mind.

    I’ve had BlueRoof in my feed reader forever and FINALLY got around to blogrolling you. (Trying to keep up with my 2007 Blogolutions). Keep up the great work!

  3. And for all of the data available, sellers still resort to the most basic methods of determining their home’s value. I received a call off of a sign from a prospective seller last night – he was pulling flyers and calling agents to check prices and gauge his own selling price.

    With a little work, this should be a listing appointment in the not-too-distant future.

Leave a Reply

