Happy New Year from BlueRoof

fireworks.jpg

This has been an eventful and interesting year for me and I wouldn’t have it any other way. It started out with a bang and it’s ending with bang and in between I’ve enjoyed the ride. Some highlights from my year include;

A trip to Hawaii (Hana)

With my incredible wife. I’ve been to Hawaii before but this trip was amazing- I probably felt more fully relaxed than ever before. It was in January after all the holiday travelers had left and we had the entire resort to ourselves (well, it felt like it at least).

Taking our entire family on a cruise

We all went down to Mexico for over a week and tested the limits of one huge ship. This was the first cruise for all of us and we all enjoyed it a ton. We call it the “ice-cream” cruise because every time we saw one of the kids they were eating ice cream. I enjoyed the alone time with my wife, the excursions and the piano bar was a blast.

Launching BlueRoof.com

Everything about it has been exciting- from the inception and pushing it through to the TechCrunch party in Seattle where I met some real entrepeneurs, to the Inman Connect where we got some attention and began a pretty cool little company story. It takes a lot of energy and effort to build a website and it takes a lot of energy and effort to start a company. Doing both can be very expensive, a big pain-in-the- @ss, and pretty exciting. There are a lot of pressures that come with owning a company and knowing that families and careers are depending on you. Change can bring out the best or worst in people. Of course there are many variables, but some people seem to handle change well while others do not and it’s been interesting to see how different people react and handle different things. The company has also brought my wife and I closer than ever. We have worked together for years now, which is really cool because most couples can’t stand to be around each other very much but we can be together all day and still want to be together all day tomorrow, and this entire experience has only made us want to be together more.

Making our Home

No, not building our home. We bought the place last year and we loved it then, but this year we’ve really made it ours. It’s a relatively big house (almost 5000 square feet) and finishing each room off in our own style and taste, a lot of remodeling  and adding our own personal touch has made it our home. We still have a lot that we want to do to it, but this is why I would never want to rent again- we’re making our home as we go and it’s all ours.

The Holidays

Every year I love the holidays, especially Thanksgiving, but this year (probably because of all the pressure we’d been under) I really enjoyed my time off with family and savored every moment of it. Christmas is always fun when you have a bunch of kids and seeing them have so much fun is magical and it reminds me of what life is all about- enjoying the ride.

And this year I have really enjoyed the ride…

 Here’s to 2007- I hope it’s as exciting and fun as 2006 has been,

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year from BlueRoof

  1. Enjoy the new year Greg, and congrats on last year as well.

    Who goes further in the playoffs?? Colts or Eagles?? I wouldn’t mind a rematch in the big game.

    And it’s good to see Timmy Miner in the blogosphere!!

Leave a Reply

